2018 National Works on Paper


An MPRG exhibition

20 July – 9 September 2018

The Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery’s National Works on Paper was established in 1998 and incorporated the former Spring Festival of Drawing and the Prints Acquisitive which began in 1973.

National Works on Paper is one of Australia’s most prestigious awards and acquisitive exhibitions. A biennial exhibition, its role is to support and promote contemporary Australian artists working on or with paper.

Our award winners and acquisitions for the 2018 National Works on Paper:

$15,000 Beleura - The Tallis Foundation / Mornington Peninsula Shire major acquisitive award - James Tylor & Laura Wills

$3500 Ursula Hoff Institute Emerging Artist Award, Proudly supporting Post Graduate excellence in Visual Arts and Music - Elena Papanikolakis

$10,000 Friends of MPRG acquisition - Ray Arnold

Other acquisitions include: Riley Payne, Hubert Pareroultja, Solomon Booth, Deanna Hitti and Rosie Weiss

James Tylor and Laura Wills.JPG

The $15,000 Beleura - The Tallis Foundation / Mornington Peninsula Shire major acquisitive award winners James Tylor & Laura Wills

The judges commented on the award-winning work by James Tylor and Laura Wills The Forgotten Wars: ‘The work is a unique collaboration between an indigenous and non-indigenous artist, bringing together James Tylor’s landscape photographs with Laura Wills delicate drawings influenced by historical survey maps.  A timely work that is rewarding on multiple levels, The Forgotten Wars explores the armed conflicts that took place from 1788 to 1930 between the British government and Aboriginal Australians.’

Judges of 2018 National Works on Paper: Victoria Lynn, Director, TarraWarra Museum of Art, Dr Kyla McFarlane, Curator of Academic Programs (Research), The Ian Potter Museum of Art, University of Melbourne and Jane Alexander, Director, Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery.

2018 finalists:

Raymond Arnold, Peter Atkins, Alec Baker, Martin Bell, Ray Besserdin, Solomon Booth, David Bosun, Godwin Bradbeer, Kate Briscoe, Jane Brown, Jon Campbell, Susanna Castleden, Danica Chappell, Hua Cun Chen, Sam Cranstoun, Lesley Duxbury, Robert Fielding, David Frazer, Ian Friend, Dana Harris, Katherine Hattam, Pei Pei He, Kendal Heyes, Mark Hislop, Deanna Hitti, Anna Hoyle, Natalya Hughes, Alana Hunt, Locust Jones, Jennifer Joseph, Noŋgirrŋa Marawili, Brian Martin, Georgie Mattingley, Mish Meijers, Viv Miller, Helen Mueller, John Nixon, Open Spatial Workshop, Elena Papanikolakis, Louise Paramor, Hubert Pareroultja , Jemima Parker, Riley Payne, Dan Price, Lisa Reid, Louise Rippert, Cameron Robbins, Brian Robinson, Elissa Sampson, Emily Sandrussi, Geoff Sargeant, Jo Scicluna, Liz Shreeve, William Smeets, Kylie Stillman, TextaQueen, James Tylor and Laura Wills, Trent Walter, Rosie Weiss, Mumu Mike Williams, Puna Yanima, Yvonne Zago, Tianli Zu

2018 National Works on Paper from MPRG on Vimeo.

National Works on Paper podcasts

Sign up to our National Works on Paper email list to find out about future calls for entry.

Top image: Georgie Mattingley, I Had to Lift the Calf, 2018, hand-tinted silver gelatin print


logo block.jpg


Wines at special events courtesy of Rahona Valley Vineyard and Yabby Lake Vineyard